triangle brand accent
triangle brand accent

Our Events

For

Event Types

september, 2019

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat

Sunday September 1

1

Monday September 2

2

CLOSED All Day

Mon, Sep 2

CLOSED

Location:

View All Events

Tuesday September 3

3

Wednesday September 4

4

No-Sew Pencil Roll Up 4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Wed, Sep 4

No-Sew Pencil Roll Up

Celebrate Back to School with this great no-sew DIY project!  We'll provide all the supplies you need.   Grades 3rd-5th.  Registration opens August 1st.

Location:

View All Events

Thursday September 5

5

Mystery Book Club 7:00 pm

Thu, Sep 5

Mystery Book Club

Our Mystery Book Club meets once a month and is led by Patron Services Intern Sharon Nagel. This month we're reading The Dry by Jane Harper.

Location:

View All Events

Friday September 6

6

Saturday September 7

7

Saturday Stories 11:00 am - 11:30 am

Sat, Sep 7

Saturday Stories

This all-ages storytime doesn't require registration.  Drop in for stories, songs, and more!

Location:

View All Events

Sunday September 8

8

Monday September 9

9

Walk-In Storytime 10:00 am - 10:30 am

Mon, Sep 9

Walk-In Storytime

This all ages storytime does not require registration. Drop-in for stories, songs, and more!

Location:

View All Events

Tuesday September 10

10

One Step Storytime 10:00 am - 10:30 am

Tue, Sep 10

One Step Storytime

This storytime is perfect for toddlers: lots of movement, bounces, and an engaging story. Each storytime ends with a 15 minute playtime. 12mo-23mo. Registration required.

Location:

 
PreSchool Storytime 11:00 am - 11:30 am

Tue, Sep 10

PreSchool Storytime

This storytime is for our inquisitive preschoolers. Listen to fun stories and songs with an occasional STEAM project! 3yo-5yo with an adult caregiver. Registration required.

Location:

View All Events

Wednesday September 11

11

STEAM STorytime: Follow the Line Through the House 4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Wed, Sep 11

STEAM STorytime: Follow the Line Through the House

We'll enjoy this innovative picture book and explore shapes and geometry with creative building activities and open-ended art projects. Grades K4-K5.  Registration begins August 15th.

Location:

 
The Changing Face of Alzheimer's Research 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm

Wed, Sep 11

The Changing Face of Alzheimer's Research

Dr. Piero Antuono, a leading neurologist affiliated with the Medical College of Wisconsin and Froedtert Hospital, is the Director of the Dementia Research Center.  Dr. Antuono's specialty for the past forty years has been the diseases of older adults, including Alzheimer’s disease and other causes of dementia.  In this presentation, he will discuss ongoing research and how it promises to change the diagnosis and treatment of people with memory loss. His presentation will cover:

Location:

View All Events

Thursday September 12

12

Two Step Storytime 10:00 am - 10:30 am

Thu, Sep 12

Two Step Storytime

Enjoy 30 minutes of captivating stories with lots of music, bounces, and fingerplays to keep your 2-year-old engaged and learning! 24mo-36mo. Registration required.

Location:

 
Kindergarten Time 3:30 pm - 4:30 pm

Thu, Sep 12

Kindergarten Time

Program Room

Come and hang out with some Legos and cartoons during the first weeks of school! This low key program will help you de-stress and ease back into the school year. Grades 6+ Registration preferred

Location: Program Room

View All Events

Friday September 13

13

Walk-In Storytime 10:00 am - 10:30 am

Fri, Sep 13

Walk-In Storytime

This all ages storytime does not require registration. Drop-in for stories, songs, and more!

Location:

View All Events

Saturday September 14

14

Sunday September 15

15

Drop In and Make: International Dot Day Celebration All Day

Sun, Sep 15

Drop In and Make: International Dot Day Celebration

International Dot Day began when teacher Terry Shay introduced his classroom to Peter H. Reynolds’ book The Dot on September 15, 2009, a book about creativity, courage, and collaboration.  We'll host our own celebration at the library all day.  Stop by the children's area whenever we're open and make something wonderful! All ages.  No registration required.

Location:

View All Events

Monday September 16

16

Walk-In Storytime 10:00 am - 10:30 am

Mon, Sep 16

Walk-In Storytime

This all ages storytime does not require registration. Drop-in for stories, songs, and more!

Location:

 
Science Explorers: Spin Art Rocks 4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Mon, Sep 16

Science Explorers: Spin Art Rocks

We'll learn about physics and explore centrifugal forces with spin art rocks.  Come make something beautiful! Grades 1st-2nd.  Registration begins September 1st.

Location:

View All Events

Tuesday September 17

17

One Step Storytime 10:00 am - 10:30 am

Tue, Sep 17

One Step Storytime

This storytime is perfect for toddlers: lots of movement, bounces, and an engaging story. Each storytime ends with a 15 minute playtime. 12mo-23mo. Registration required.

Location:

 
PreSchool Storytime 11:00 am - 11:30 am

Tue, Sep 17

PreSchool Storytime

This storytime is for our inquisitive preschoolers. Listen to fun stories and songs with an occasional STEAM project! 3yo-5yo with an adult caregiver. Registration required.

Location:

 
Self Defense with Pepper-Spray Patti 3:45 pm - 5:45 pm

Tue, Sep 17

Self Defense with Pepper-Spray Patti

Program Room

Learn self-defense and empowerment with Pepperspray Patti! Topics include predator mindset, awareness, confidence building, red flag behaviors, de-escalating tactics and physical defense basics. Grades 6+ Registration Required 

Location: Program Room

View All Events

Wednesday September 18

18

Friends of Whitefish Bay Library Meeting 6:30 pm

Wed, Sep 18

Friends of Whitefish Bay Library Meeting

Location:

View All Events

Thursday September 19

19

Two Step Storytime 10:00 am - 10:30 am

Thu, Sep 19

Two Step Storytime

Enjoy 30 minutes of captivating stories with lots of music, bounces, and fingerplays to keep your 2-year-old engaged and learning! 24mo-36mo. Registration required.

Location:

View All Events

Friday September 20

20

Walk-In Storytime 10:00 am - 10:30 am

Fri, Sep 20

Walk-In Storytime

This all ages storytime does not require registration. Drop-in for stories, songs, and more!

Location:

View All Events

Saturday September 21

21

Sunday September 22

22

Monday September 23

23

Walk-In Storytime 10:00 am - 10:30 am

Mon, Sep 23

Walk-In Storytime

This all ages storytime does not require registration. Drop-in for stories, songs, and more!

Location:

View All Events

Tuesday September 24

24

One Step Storytime 10:00 am - 10:30 am

Tue, Sep 24

One Step Storytime

This storytime is perfect for toddlers: lots of movement, bounces, and an engaging story. Each storytime ends with a 15 minute playtime. 12mo-23mo. Registration required.

Location:

 
PreSchool Storytime 11:00 am - 11:30 am

Tue, Sep 24

PreSchool Storytime

This storytime is for our inquisitive preschoolers. Listen to fun stories and songs with an occasional STEAM project! 3yo-5yo with an adult caregiver. Registration required.

Location:

 
Sharpie Mugs 4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Tue, Sep 24

Sharpie Mugs

Decorate your own mug using oil-based Sharpies in an array of colors. All you need to bring is yourself! We'll have the mugs, the Sharpies, and some inspiring ideas to get you started. Then, take your mug home and bake it to make your design permanent. Grades 3rd-5th.  Registration begins September 1st.

Location:

 
Library Board Meeting 6:30 pm

Tue, Sep 24

Library Board Meeting

Location:

View All Events

Wednesday September 25

25

Whitefish Bay TALKS: Independence Corrupted- How America's Judges Make Their Decisions 6:30 pm

Wed, Sep 25

Whitefish Bay TALKS: Independence Corrupted- How America's Judges Make Their Decisions

Judge Schudson exposes the personal, professional, and political pressures now threatening judicial integrity like never before.  With attacks on judges intensifying, Independence Corrupted is essential for students and scholars, lawyers and judges, and all citizens concerned about the survival of judicial independence.    

Location:

View All Events

Thursday September 26

26

Two Step Storytime 10:00 am - 10:30 am

Thu, Sep 26

Two Step Storytime

Enjoy 30 minutes of captivating stories with lots of music, bounces, and fingerplays to keep your 2-year-old engaged and learning! 24mo-36mo. Registration required.

Location:

 
Thursday Films 6:00 pm

Thu, Sep 26

Thursday Films

Bring a snack to eat and a soda to sip while you enjoy these free movies.

Location:

View All Events

Friday September 27

27

Walk-In Storytime 10:00 am - 10:30 am

Fri, Sep 27

Walk-In Storytime

This all ages storytime does not require registration. Drop-in for stories, songs, and more!

Location:

 
Tea Time Book Club 12:00 pm

Fri, Sep 27

Tea Time Book Club

Our Tea Time Book Club meets once a month and is led by Library Director Nyama Reed. This month we're reading The History of Bees by Maja Lunde 

Location:

View All Events

Saturday September 28

28

Sunday September 29

29

Monday September 30

30

Walk-In Storytime 10:00 am - 10:30 am

Mon, Sep 30

Walk-In Storytime

This all ages storytime does not require registration. Drop-in for stories, songs, and more!

Location:

View All Events