triangle brand accent
triangle brand accent

Our Events

For

Event Types

february, 2020

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat

Saturday February 1

1

Library Dance Party 11:00 am - 11:30 am

Sat, Feb 1

Library Dance Party

Cabin fever getting you down?  Get those wiggles out with a rockin' dance party!  We'll supply the tunes, and you just need to bring your boogie shoes. Ages 1yo-5yo with an adult caregiver (siblings welcome) No registration required

Location:

View All Events

Sunday February 2

2

Monday February 3

3

Walk-In Storytime 10:00 am - 10:30 am

Mon, Feb 3

Walk-In Storytime

This all ages storytime does not require registration. Drop-in for stories, songs, and more!

Location:

View All Events

Tuesday February 4

4

One Step Storytime 10:00 am - 10:30 am

Tue, Feb 4

One Step Storytime

This storytime is perfect for toddlers: lots of movement, bounces, and an engaging story. Each storytime ends with a 15 minute playtime. 12mo-23mo. Registration required.  Call to register!

Location:

 
PreSchool Storytime 11:00 am - 11:30 am

Tue, Feb 4

PreSchool Storytime

This storytime is for our inquisitive preschoolers. Listen to fun stories and songs with an occasional STEAM project! 3yo-5yo with an adult caregiver. Registration required. Call to register!

Location:

 
Whitefish Bay TALKS: 1947 Milwaukee Blizzard with Matthew J. Prigge 6:30 pm

Tue, Feb 4

Whitefish Bay TALKS: 1947 Milwaukee Blizzard with Matthew J. Prigge

In late January 1947, Milwaukee was hammered with what remains the greatest blizzard in city history. What was forecast as an inch of snow turned into a two-day storm that left 20 inches on Milwaukee, literally freezing the city where it stood. It would be days before Milwaukee could get moving again and the city's street would not be fully cleared for nearly six weeks. Milwaukee historian and author Matthew J. Prigge will tell the story of the Great Blizzard of '47 - explaining how the storm came to so thoroughly shut down the city and how friends, neighbors, and total strangers came together to brave the elements and help each other through the storm. 

Location:

View All Events

Wednesday February 5

5

Thursday February 6

6

Two Step Storytime 10:00 am - 10:30 am

Thu, Feb 6

Two Step Storytime

Enjoy 30 minutes of captivating stories with lots of music, bounces, and fingerplays to keep your 2-year-old engaged and learning! 24mo-36mo. Registration required.  Call to register!

Location:

 
Mystery Book Club 7:00 pm

Thu, Feb 6

Mystery Book Club

Our Mystery Book Club meets once a month and is led by Patron Services Intern Sharon Nagel. This month we're reading Jar city by Arnaldur Indriðason

Location:

View All Events

Friday February 7

7

Walk-In Storytime 10:00 am - 10:30 am

Fri, Feb 7

Walk-In Storytime

This all ages storytime does not require registration. Drop-in for stories, songs, and more!

Location:

View All Events

Saturday February 8

8

Family Craft Day: Valentine Hedgehogs All Day

Sat, Feb 8

Family Craft Day: Valentine Hedgehogs

Work together to make an adorable hedgehog just in time for Valentine's Day.  Stop by the children's area when we're open and create!  

Location:

View All Events

Sunday February 9

9

Monday February 10

10

Science Explorers: Art Pick Up 4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Mon, Feb 10

Science Explorers: Art Pick Up

We’ll celebrate Valentine’s Day with… science?  Yes!  Learn about chemical reactions and phases of matter while experiencing this colorful, sensory science experiment.  Please dress for a mess! Grades 1st-2nd.  Registration opens January 15th. 

Location:

View All Events

Tuesday February 11

11

One Step Storytime 10:00 am - 10:30 am

Tue, Feb 11

One Step Storytime

This storytime is perfect for toddlers: lots of movement, bounces, and an engaging story. Each storytime ends with a 15 minute playtime. 12mo-23mo. Registration required.  Call to register!

Location:

 
PreSchool Storytime 11:00 am - 11:30 am

Tue, Feb 11

PreSchool Storytime

This storytime is for our inquisitive preschoolers. Listen to fun stories and songs with an occasional STEAM project! 3yo-5yo with an adult caregiver. Registration required. Call to register!

Location:

View All Events

Wednesday February 12

12

Thursday February 13

13

Two Step Storytime 10:00 am - 10:30 am

Thu, Feb 13

Two Step Storytime

Enjoy 30 minutes of captivating stories with lots of music, bounces, and fingerplays to keep your 2-year-old engaged and learning! 24mo-36mo. Registration required.  Call to register!

Location:

View All Events

Friday February 14

14

Walk-In Storytime 10:00 am - 10:30 am

Fri, Feb 14

Walk-In Storytime

This all ages storytime does not require registration. Drop-in for stories, songs, and more!

Location:

View All Events

Saturday February 15

15

Sunday February 16

16

Monday February 17

17

Walk-In Storytime 10:00 am - 10:30 am

Mon, Feb 17

Walk-In Storytime

This all ages storytime does not require registration. Drop-in for stories, songs, and more!

Location:

View All Events

Tuesday February 18

18

One Step Storytime 10:00 am - 10:30 am

Tue, Feb 18

One Step Storytime

This storytime is perfect for toddlers: lots of movement, bounces, and an engaging story. Each storytime ends with a 15 minute playtime. 12mo-23mo. Registration required.  Call to register!

Location:

 
PreSchool Storytime 11:00 am - 11:30 am

Tue, Feb 18

PreSchool Storytime

This storytime is for our inquisitive preschoolers. Listen to fun stories and songs with an occasional STEAM project! 3yo-5yo with an adult caregiver. Registration required. Call to register!

Location:

View All Events

Wednesday February 19

19

STEAM Storytime: The Mitten 4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Wed, Feb 19

STEAM Storytime: The Mitten

How many animals can you really fit inside a mitten?  How does the size of a black bear really compare to an owl? We'll learn about sequencing, spatial reasoning and size comparison while enjoying this classic retelling of the Ukrainian folk tale.  Come play and learn! Grades K4-K5.  Registration opens February 1st. 

Location:

 
Friends of Whitefish Bay Library Meeting 6:30 pm - 12:00 am

Wed, Feb 19

Friends of Whitefish Bay Library Meeting

Location:

View All Events

Thursday February 20

20

Two Step Storytime 10:00 am - 10:30 am

Thu, Feb 20

Two Step Storytime

Enjoy 30 minutes of captivating stories with lots of music, bounces, and fingerplays to keep your 2-year-old engaged and learning! 24mo-36mo. Registration required.  Call to register!

Location:

 
DIY Tiny Shoebox Houses 4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Thu, Feb 20

DIY Tiny Shoebox Houses

Turn a shoebox into a home!  Design your ideal house, engineer the building process, and use felt, stickers, construction paper, yarn and more to give the house life.  Grades 3rd-5th.  Registration begins February 1st.

Location:

View All Events

Friday February 21

21

Walk-In Storytime 10:00 am - 10:30 am

Fri, Feb 21

Walk-In Storytime

This all ages storytime does not require registration. Drop-in for stories, songs, and more!

Location:

 
Tea Time Book Club 12:00 pm

Fri, Feb 21

Tea Time Book Club

Our Tea Time Book Club meets once a month and is led by Library Director Nyama Reed. This month we're reading Becoming by Michelle Obama.

Location:

View All Events

Saturday February 22

22

Sunday February 23

23

Monday February 24

24

Walk-In Storytime 10:00 am - 10:30 am

Mon, Feb 24

Walk-In Storytime

This all ages storytime does not require registration. Drop-in for stories, songs, and more!

Location:

View All Events

Tuesday February 25

25

One Step Storytime 10:00 am - 10:30 am

Tue, Feb 25

One Step Storytime

This storytime is perfect for toddlers: lots of movement, bounces, and an engaging story. Each storytime ends with a 15 minute playtime. 12mo-23mo. Registration required.  Call to register!

Location:

 
PreSchool Storytime 11:00 am - 11:30 am

Tue, Feb 25

PreSchool Storytime

This storytime is for our inquisitive preschoolers. Listen to fun stories and songs with an occasional STEAM project! 3yo-5yo with an adult caregiver. Registration required. Call to register!

Location:

 
Library Board Meeting 6:30 pm - 12:00 am

Tue, Feb 25

Library Board Meeting

Location:

View All Events

Wednesday February 26

26

Racial Wealth Gap Learning Simulation 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm

Wed, Feb 26

Racial Wealth Gap Learning Simulation

Hosted by Bay Bridge Wisconsin.= Thank you for your interest in this program but unfortunately registration is full. Join us for the Racial Wealth Gap Learning Simulation for an interactive exploration of how federal policies have created structural inequalities and why racial equity is so important to ending hunger and poverty in America. This conversation is for those who want to become more aware of structural inequality and how to support policies that undo and/ or reduce disparities in our communities. This conversation is being facilitated by hunger fighter, food advocate and public health ambassador, Rayna Andrews

Location:

View All Events

Thursday February 27

27

Two Step Storytime 10:00 am - 10:30 am

Thu, Feb 27

Two Step Storytime

Enjoy 30 minutes of captivating stories with lots of music, bounces, and fingerplays to keep your 2-year-old engaged and learning! 24mo-36mo. Registration required.  Call to register!

Location:

View All Events

Friday February 28

28

Walk-In Storytime 10:00 am - 10:30 am

Fri, Feb 28

Walk-In Storytime

This all ages storytime does not require registration. Drop-in for stories, songs, and more!

Location:

View All Events

Saturday February 29

29