triangle brand accent
triangle brand accent

Our Events

For

Event Types

october, 2022

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat

Saturday October 1

1

Whitefish Bay Public Library’s 85th Anniversary Event 12:00 pm

Sat, Oct 1

Whitefish Bay Public Library’s 85th Anniversary Event

Celebrate the library at Whitefish Bay Public Library’s 85th Anniversary Event on Saturday, October 1 from 12-4PM in Schoolhouse Park right across from the library (rain location inside the library). There will be games, food, and fun for all!

Location:

View All Events

Sunday October 2

2

Monday October 3

3

Outdoor All Ages Storytime at School House Park 10:00 am - 10:30 am

Mon, Oct 3

Outdoor All Ages Storytime at School House Park

School House Park

We're excited to offer outdoor storytime for all ages in School House Park this fall!  Join us for stories, songs, and more.   In case of bad weather, we'll hold storytime in the tower of the children's department. Registration open now.

Location: School House Park

 
3D Rainbow Cardboard Structures in School House Park 4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Mon, Oct 3

3D Rainbow Cardboard Structures in School House Park

It's art AND it's engineering in action.  Come to School House Park to take simple cardboard and create your own beautiful 3D rainbow sculptures.   K5-2nd.  Registration open now.  

Location:

View All Events

Tuesday October 4

4

Wednesday October 5

5

Outdoor All Ages Storytime at School House Park 10:00 am - 10:30 am

Wed, Oct 5

Outdoor All Ages Storytime at School House Park

School House Park

We're excited to offer outdoor storytime for all ages in School House Park this fall!  Join us for stories, songs, and more.   In case of bad weather, we'll hold storytime in the tower of the children's department. Registration open now.

Location: School House Park

View All Events

Thursday October 6

6

Outdoor All Ages Storytime at School House Park 10:00 am - 10:30 am

Thu, Oct 6

Outdoor All Ages Storytime at School House Park

School House Park

We're excited to offer outdoor storytime for all ages in School House Park this fall!  Join us for stories, songs, and more.   In case of bad weather, we'll hold storytime in the tower of the children's department. Registration open now.

Location: School House Park

View All Events

Friday October 7

7

Saturday October 8

8

Sunday October 9

9

Monday October 10

10

CLOSED- STAFF DEVELOPMENT DAY All Day

Mon, Oct 10

CLOSED- STAFF DEVELOPMENT DAY

The library will closed all day for staff development.  

Location:

View All Events

Tuesday October 11

11

Wednesday October 12

12

Take and Make: Paper Scrap Trees 10:00 am

Wed, Oct 12

Take and Make: Paper Scrap Trees

Celebrate fall with these whimsical paper tree collages, made with colorful scraps from our paper bin.   Pick up your kit from 10am-noon and 5pm-7pm outside the front doors of the library.  We ask that you take one craft kit per child.

Location:

 
Outdoor All Ages Storytime at School House Park 10:00 am - 10:30 am

Wed, Oct 12

Outdoor All Ages Storytime at School House Park

School House Park

We're excited to offer outdoor storytime for all ages in School House Park this fall!  Join us for stories, songs, and more.   In case of bad weather, we'll hold storytime in the tower of the children's department. Registration open now.

Location: School House Park

 
Getting to Know Medicare 6:00 pm

Wed, Oct 12

Getting to Know Medicare

A workshop designed to simplify Medicare and to help you make a more informed decision on your coverage without all the headaches and confusion. This program will be held in person. 

Location:

View All Events

Thursday October 13

13

Outdoor All Ages Storytime at School House Park 10:00 am - 10:30 am

Thu, Oct 13

Outdoor All Ages Storytime at School House Park

School House Park

We're excited to offer outdoor storytime for all ages in School House Park this fall!  Join us for stories, songs, and more.   In case of bad weather, we'll hold storytime in the tower of the children's department. Registration open now.

Location: School House Park

 
Virtual Mystery Book Club 6:30 pm

Thu, Oct 13

Virtual Mystery Book Club

Our Mystery Book Club meets once a month and is led by librarian Sharon Nagel. This month we're reading Girl Waits with Gun by Amy Stewart.

Location:

View All Events

Friday October 14

14

Saturday October 15

15

Sunday October 16

16

Monday October 17

17

Bad Art Show in School House Park 4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Mon, Oct 17

Bad Art Show in School House Park

Let go of perfection and celebrate the mediocre, the tacky, and the campy at our Bad Art Show!  We'll provide you with all the materials you'll need to make the worst, weirdest art you can imagine.   Grades 3rd-5th.  Registration opens September 15th.

Location:

View All Events

Tuesday October 18

18

Wednesday October 19

19

Thursday October 20

20

Outdoor All Ages Storytime at School House Park 10:00 am - 10:30 am

Thu, Oct 20

Outdoor All Ages Storytime at School House Park

School House Park

We're excited to offer outdoor storytime for all ages in School House Park this fall!  Join us for stories, songs, and more.   In case of bad weather, we'll hold storytime in the tower of the children's department. Registration open now.

Location: School House Park

View All Events

Friday October 21

21

Saturday October 22

22

Sunday October 23

23

In Celebration of the United Nation’s 77th Anniversary Spotlight on: Abolishing Nuclear Weapons 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm

Sun, Oct 23

In Celebration of the United Nation’s 77th Anniversary Spotlight on: Abolishing Nuclear Weapons

https://www.wfblibrary.org/our_events/?eid=1313“We must keep the horrors of Hiroshima in view at all times, recognizing there is only one solution to the nuclear threat: not to have nuclear weapons at all.” UN Secretary-General António Guterres, Aug. 6, 2022 Ira Helfand Dr. Helfand will be discussing the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN) and Physicians for Social Responsibility’s (PSR) report Nuclear Famine: 2 Billion at Risk?, which he co-authored. The report outlines the global health consequences of regional nuclear war.

Location:

View All Events

Monday October 24

24

Tuesday October 25

25

Library Board Meeting 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm

Tue, Oct 25

Library Board Meeting

Location:

View All Events

Wednesday October 26

26

Half Day Craft Day: Button Making 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm

Wed, Oct 26

Half Day Craft Day: Button Making

Teens, spend your half day making cool buttons you can pin to places like your backpack or jacket! Feel free to bring some of your old magazines or comics to find neat pictures to make buttons from. The library will also supply a collection of magazines and comics for you to make buttons with.

Location:

 
Plan Your NaNoWriMo Novel 6:30 pm

Wed, Oct 26

Plan Your NaNoWriMo Novel

Fasten your seatbelts and get ready to write! Every November thousands take the National Novel Writing Month challenge and sign up to write a 50,000-word novel in 30 days! In this kick-off workshop, you’ll work on exercises to help you choose your genre, create characters, and imagine what might happen!

Location:

View All Events

Thursday October 27

27

Friday October 28

28

Tea Time Book Club 12:00 pm

Fri, Oct 28

Tea Time Book Club

Our Tea Time Book Club meets once a month is led by Library Director Nyama Reed.  This month we're reading Reclamation : Sally Hemings, Thomas Jefferson, and a descendant's search for her family's lasting legacy by Gayle Jessup White. As of March, Tea Time Book Club with offer hybrid meetings. You can attend in-person at the Library in the 2nd floor Program Room or online via Zoom. 

Location:

View All Events

Saturday October 29

29

Sunday October 30

30

Monday October 31

31